Lost in a new, uncontrolled and scary place? It makes sense to be scared, confused and disorientated.

I recently took part in a panel discussion about the future of corporate communications in the new media world. The feedback I got was that the people at the drug company* I spoke to liked what I had to say, because I started from the premises that: 1) in a new and uncontrolled environment of change, it is rational to be afraid, confused and hope it will all go away; 2) that there are things the new media can do that companies can use to their commercial benefit; and 3) that even the horrible bits like a “blogswarm,” to name but one, contain elements that can be embraced by firms if they themselves adopt some of the skills and tools of the much vaunted Web 2.0.

I’ve therefore decided to write up my thoughts on the future of drug industry communications in the hope that this will be of some use to me when giving (hopefully) more presentations and to others interested in the subject.

Comments are welcome.

* I haven’t signed a non-disclosure agreement with the U.S. drug firm, which is in the process of paying me an honorarium for taking two days in Philadelphia, plus my preparation time, but on the other hand I don’t feel like disclosing the content of what were private sessions of a global corporate communications get-together (which for the record was impressively organized and open to trying out ideas). So unless I hear from them that they’re happy for me to discuss the name I have no plans to do so.

Leave a Reply

